Ministry of Railways29-December, 2010 20:27 IST
Kolkata Metro Railway gets the Status of 17th Zone of Indian Railways
Metro Railway, Kolkata got the status of 17th Zone of Indian Railways. The Minister of Railways Mamata Banerjee laid the foundation stone for conferring on Metro Railway the status 17th Zone at a function at Metro Rail Bhawan, Kolkata today. The Indian Railways is presently having 16 Zonal Railways namely; Central (Mumbai), Western (Mumbai), Eastern (Kolkata), South Eastern (Kolkata), Northern (New Delhi), North Eastern (Gorakhpur), Northeast Frontier (Guwahati), Southern (Chennai), South Central (Secunderabad), East Coast (Bhubneshwar), North Central (Allahabad), North Western (Jaipur), South East Central (Bilaspur), West Central (Jabalpur) and South Western Railways (Hubli).

At present, Metro Railway, Kolkata is operating over a length of about 25 Kilometres but it is on the threshold of a high growth phase. A number of new works have been sanctioned recently, as a result of which the network of Metro Railway, Kolkata would expand fast. The passenger traffic, which has been steadily growing, is likely to grow even faster with the completion of these new works.

Kolkata Metro, India’s first became a reality on October 24, 1984 with the commissioning of partial commercial service from Esplanade to Bhowanipur (now Netaji Bhavan) over 3.40 km. route. Other stations were opened at different stages and services on the entire stretch of Metro were introduced from Dum Dum to Tollygunge on September 27, 1995. There are 16 stations in this section.

The status of Zonal Railway to this Metro would give greater autonomy to Metro Railway, Kolkata. This will also give confidence to staff and give them greater job satisfaction, resulting in improved work culture. These would lead to early completion of the sanctioned works, thereby helping Metro Railway, Kolkata in its operation and further expansion.

Mamata Banerjee also commenced also commenced the work of Joka- Majherhat section in the fist phase of Joka-BBD Bag Metro Railway o the occasion.

Also present on the occasion among others will be Chairman, Railway Board, Shri Vivek Sahai, Member (Engineering) Railway Board, Shri A.P.Mishra and Member (Staff) Railway Board, Shri V.N.Tripathi.

(Release ID :68765)