Ministry of Earth Science27-July, 2012 17:53 IST
Earth Sciences Foundation Day Celebrated Today
The 9th Foundation Day of the Ministry of Earth Sciences were celebrated here today in the presence of Dr. Ashwani Kumar, Minister of State for Planning, Science & Technology and Earth Sciences, Dr Shailesh Nayak, Secretary, Earth Sciences and Dr. R.K. Pachauri, DG, the Energy and Resources Institute.

Speaking on the occasion, Dr. Ashwani Kumar announced the institutional endeavours lined up for implementation during the XII Plan including areas of earthquake research, monitoring of glaciers, role of Himalayan ecosystem, understanding monsoon’s variability and improving skills in short-term, medium-range extended-range and seasonal scale prediction of rainfall.

The Minister said that major plan have been drawn to deploy a high density observation network and to develop warning systems for hazards like cloud bursts, fog, cyclones etc; experiments are on to obtain sustainable energy from ocean through ocean current, thermal gradient, waves etc. are is being planned. Low thermal desalinization technology is being scaled up for sourcing fresh water from sea; expensive exploration of hydrothermal vents on the mid-ocean ridge in the South West Indian ocean is being planned to implement our capacity to source metallogenesis for precious and strategic metal sulfide; and technical capabilities are being continuous augmented in deep sea mining to access proven availability of polymetalic module, gas hydrates etc at a depth ranging from 200 mtrs to 6000 mtrs.

He assured the support of the Government for augmenting High Performance Computing facility from the existing 120 T flops to 800 T flops to meet the emerging computing needs of all MoES institutions.

The Minister also gave away the awards on the occasion. The National Award for Ocean Science & Technology was given to Dr. Satish Ramnath Shetye, the National Award for Atmospheric Science & Technology was given to Prof. J. Srinivasan, Certificate of Merit for Scientist/Engineer in Ocean Science & Technology were given to Dr. Manish Tiwari, Dr. V. Ranga Rao, Dr. Basanta Kumar Jena and Shri Venkat Seshu Redden, Certificate of Merit for Scientist/Engineer in Atmospheric Science & Technology were given to Dr. Ashish Kumar Mitra, Dr. S.D. Pawar, Dr. Kripan Ghosh and Dr. Ashok Kumar Das.

(Release ID :85565)