विज्ञप्तियां उर्दू विज्ञप्तियां फोटो निमंत्रण लेख प्रत्यायन फीडबैक विज्ञप्तियां मंगाएं Search उन्नत खोज
Quick Search
home Home
Releases Urdu Releases Photos Invitations Features Accreditation Feedback Subscribe Releases Advance Search
home  Printer friendly Page home  Email this page
English Release 29-March 2015
Date Month Year
  • Prime Minister's Office
  • PM's remarks in condolence book, at the funeral of the founding father of Singapore, Mr. Lee Kuan Yew
  • PM meets Deputy Prime Minister of Singapore, Emeritus Senior Minister of Singapore, and President of Israel
  • Remarks by Prime Minister to the Media at Singapore
  • Ministry of Finance
  • Government Releases About Rs. 385 Crore to Andhra Pradesh while about Rs. 150 Crore to Telangana as part of the 13th Finance Commission Recommendations
  • Min of Parliamentary Affairs
  • Rajya Sabha prorogued
  • Min of Personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions
  • Dr. Jitendra Singh receives Rs. 25 lakh cheque for J&K flood relief
  • Practice of Yoga best for health: Dr. Jitendra Singh

Previous Date

Ministry of Science & Technology20-October, 2010 19:31 IST
Scientific Innovation should be Harnessed to the need for Conservation: Prime Minister
PM Confers Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Awards - 2009 & 2010
The Prime Minister, Dr Manmohan Singh today gave away the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar awards for years 2009 and 2010 to twenty young scientists. Addressing the awardees, the Prime Minister said that we have to be able to develop technologies that create ‘wealth from waste’, thereby tackling depletion and degradation of our environment while conserving our rich biodiversity and finite resources. The Prime Minister called for larger participation of private sector to create high impact collaborations. Dr Singh said that new ways of doing things need to be created to encourage not only individual excellence but to harness it efficiently into socially productive multiplier outputs. Dr Singh congratulated the young achievers, especially the four women scientists, who received the prestigious Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar awards today.

The Minister of State (Independent charge) for Science and Technology, Shri Prithviraj Chavan in his address noted that the awards are literally an investment in future as these annual awards recognize young talent and encourage them to forge ahead with their innovative ideas. The Minister Shri Prithviraj Chavan hoped that the recognition of awards will act as a catalyst in their future scientific endeavours. The Minister mentioned that the Council for Scientific Industrial Research would in fact shortly be showcasing, with nearly 100 industrial partners, their innovative products in the forthcoming Techno-fair at Delhi.

The DG, CSIR Prof Samir Brahmachari pointed out that the Council is working towards its pledge that Indian Science will lead and not follow the research trends. He said it is important to provide an enabling environment to the young scientists to achieve their goals and recognizing talent through awards is one such step.

For the year 2009, the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize in Biological Sciences has been awarded to Dr Amitabh Joshi of the Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bangalore. The award in Biological Sciences was also awarded to Dr. Bhaskar Saha of the National Centre for Cell Science, Pune. In Chemical Sciences, Dr. Charusita Chakravarty of the Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi was awarded for her significant contributions in the development of path integral methods for studying quantum effects in chemical systems and for applications of classical and quantum simulations to the study of physiochemical properties of liquids. Dr. Narayanaswamy Jayaraman of the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore was another recipient of the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for the year 2009 in Chemical Sciences. In Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary Sciences category, the award has been given to Dr. S.K.Satheesh of the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore for his outstanding contributions to the study of Atmospheric aerosols and their implications to climate. Dr. Giridhar Madras, also of IISc Bangalore was recognized for his Engineering Sciences. The Award for Engineering Sciences was also given to Jayant Ramaswamy Haritsa of IISC, Bangalore. The Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for the year 2009 in Mathematical Sciences has been awarded to Dr. Venappally Suresh of the University of Hyderabad. The Medical Sciences category prize has been awarded to Dr. Santosh Gajanan Honavar of the LV Prasad Eye Institute, Hyderabad. For Physical Sciences, two scientists Dr. Rajesh Gopakumar of the Harish Chandra Research Institute, Allahabad and Dr. Abhishek Dhar of the Raman Research Institute, Bangalore were awarded.

For the year 2010, awards were given to nine scientists - For Biological Sciences, Dr Sanjeev Galande from National Centre for Cell Science, Pune and Dr Shubha Tole from Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai received the prize. In the field of Chemical Sciences, Dr Swapan K Pati from Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bangalore and Dr Sandeep Verma from Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur were the recepients. Dr G K Ananthasuresh of Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore and Dr Sanghamitra Bandyopadhyay from Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata were awarded in Engineering Sciences category. Dr Mitali Mukerji from Institute of Genomics & Integrative Biology (CSIR), Delhi won the award for Medical Sciences. For Physical Sciences, Dr Umesh Vasudeo Waghmare of Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bangalore and Dr Kalobaran Maiti from Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai received the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar 2010 Award. No Award however was given in the area of Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean & Planetary Sciences and Mathematical Sciences for year 2010. The awards carry a cash prize of Rupees 5 lakh, a citation and a plaque given by the Hon’ble Prime Minister of India.

Among other awards given today was also the CSIR Award for S & T Innovations for Rural Development. The 2009 award was accorded to Indian Oil Corporation R &D Centre, Faridabad for developing environment friendly, non-toxic, biodegradable ‘Servo Agro spray Oil’ for pest control in diverse agricultural crops.


(Release ID :66478)

Web Ratana This site is winner of Platinum Icon for 'Outstanding Web Content' Web Ratna Award'09 presented in April 2010
Site is designed and hosted by National Informatics Centre (NIC),Information is provided and updated by Press Information Bureau
"A" - Wing, Shastri Bhawan, Dr. Rajendra Prasad Road, New Delhi - 110 001 Phone 23389338
Content Manager : Ms. Ira Joshi, ADG(IT).
Go Top Top

उपयोग संबंधी शर्तें स्वोत्वाधिकार नीति गोपनीयता संबंधी नीति हाइपरलिंकिंग नीति Terms of Use Copyright Policy Privacy Policy Hyperlinking Policy